Annual General Meeting, Full Council
Tuesday, 16th May, 2017 10.00 am

Venue: Main Concert Hall - The Guildhall (following adjournment to start no earlier than 2:30pm - The Council Chamber, Portsmouth Guildhall)

Contact: Stewart Agland  Email:

No. Item

Items 1 (Election of Lord Mayor) and 2 (Appointment of Deputy Lord Mayor) will take place in the Main Concert Hall.


Election of the Lord Mayor for the Ensuing Municipal Year


Appointment of the Deputy Lord Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year

The Council will adjourn at approximately 11.30 am and deal with the remaining items, re-commencing in the Council Chamber no earlier than 2.30 pm.


Members' Interests.


Minutes of the ordinary Council meeting held on 21 March 2017 pdf icon PDF 91 KB


Communications from the Lord Mayor including apologies for absence


Written Deputations


Office of Leader of the Council

a)    they resign from the office;


b)    they are no longer a Councillor


c)    they are removed from office by resolution of the Council


In accordance with the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007, to receive details from the Leader of the Council regarding Cabinet members and portfolios for the ensuing Municipal Year

The Council will also receive details of the appointments from the Leader (as it is within their gift) for the Health and Wellbeing Board, applying the following criteria;


§  Leader of the Council (or nominated representative)

§  Portfolio holder responsible for Health & Social Care

§  Portfolio holder responsible for Children’s Services

§  Leader of the largest opposition group (or nominated representative)


A named standing deputy may also be appointed for each position.


Proportional Representation on Panels and Committees

Under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the City Council is required at each Annual Meeting to review the representation of different political groups, to determine the allocation of seats to different political groups for the forthcoming Municipal Year based on the Group Strengths on the Council and to appoint Members in accordance with the decisions of the Council as to allocation and according to the wishes of the groups as to the identities of the Members to be appointed.  The appointment of Members is dealt with separately under Item 10 below.


Proposed allocation of Seats for 2017/18 (Table 1) below


The representation of groups must be in accordance with the rules set out in the relevant legislation.  Details of the proposed allocation of places on Panels and Committees is set out below with the previous situation shown in brackets) -










No of Cllrs

Total No of Cttee Seats

Licensing Committee

(15 Members)

Planning Committee

(10 Members)

7 committees and panels (see note)

(6 Members each)

Scrutiny Management Panel

(9 Members)



36 (34)


 5 (4)

 20 (19)


Liberal Democrat









 5 (7)



 2 (4)






 0 (1)

 2 (1)


Non-Aligned Independents
















Note: Group 5 contains the following: Governance & Audit & Standards; Employment; & Health Overview and Scrutiny Panel; and the 4 themed scrutiny panels


Principle 2 within Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 requires the majority of seats on Committees and Panels to be allocated to the group having the majority of seats on the City Council. 


A group is defined in the regulations as comprising two or more persons.


2017/18 municipal appointments will be presented at the meeting


RECOMMENDED (1) that the total number of seats on Committees and Panels be divided amongst the political groups and individual members as applicable in accordance with Table 1 above ;


                                  (2) that any other bodies subject to the political proportionality rules be appointed in accordance with proportions shown in Table 1.


To appoint Members to the following Committees and Panels for the 2017/18 Municipal Year :-

Scrutiny Management Panel

- 9 members

Planning Committee

- 10 members

Licensing Committee

- 15 members

Governance & Audit & Standards Committee

- 6 members

Employment Committee

- 6 members

Health Overview & Scrutiny Panel

- 6 members

Economic Development, Culture & Leisure Scrutiny Panel

- 6 members

Education, Children & Young People Scrutiny Panel

- 6 members

Housing and Social Care Scrutiny Panel

- 6 members

Traffic, Environment & Community Safety Scrutiny Panel

- 6 members



To appoint Standing Deputies (three named Members for each Group on each Committee or Panel, five in respect of the Planning Committee).


To appoint the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees and the Scrutiny Management and Scrutiny Panels for the 2017/18 Municipal Year.



To appoint representatives, who must be elected members, to the following outside bodies. These appointments are reserved to the City Council in accordance with Paragraph 1.3 of Part 2 of the Council Constitution.


(1)       To appoint 1* member to serve on the Hampshire Fire & Rescue Authority for the 2017/18 municipal year.


* Reduction in membership agreed by HFRA at their meeting of 7 September 2016.


(In 2016/17 the appointees were Councillors Frank Jonas, Luke Stubbs and Matthew Winnington)


(2)       Police and Crime Panel (PCP)


To appoint 1 member to serve on the Police and Crime Panel (Councillor Ian Lyon was the Council's representative in 2016/17).


Note: Councils are asked to consider when appointing, whether a conflict of interest might occur for Leaders and Community Safety Portfolio holders, as they are likely to be in regular discussions with the Police and Crime Commissioner about local crime and disorder issues.


(3)       To appoint up to 4 members to serve on the Local Government Association General Assembly for the 2017/18 municipal year, who will be supported by the appropriate officers at the Annual Conference, and to specify which of the elected members will hold the voting rights.


Portsmouth City Council has up to 4 votes on the LGA, which are usually exercised by the party forming the City Council’s political administration. Those having the right to vote should be identified.


In 2016/17 the representatives were Councillors Donna Jones, Lee Mason, Robert New and Gerald Vernon-Jackson, who each exercised one vote.


(4)       To appoint 6 members to serve on the Langstone Harbour Board who must be an elected member and in accordance with the political balance regulations.


For 2016/17, the representatives were; Councillors Alicia Denny, Steve Hastings, Ian Lyon, Lee Mason, Darren Sanders and Matthew Winnington.


Standing deputies may also be appointed.


Other Appointments

·         6 members to the Twinning Advisory Group - in 2016/17 it was chaired by the Resources Portfolio holder (Lee Mason), with the Lord Mayor (David Fuller) performing the deputy Chair role (the other 4 members in 2016/17 were Councillors Chowdhury, Galloway, Hugh Mason and Lynne Stagg).


To receive and consider any urgent and important business in accordance with Standing Order No 26.


To approve the following dates for meetings of the Council during the 2017/18 Municipal Year as required under Standing Order 6 and 10(k), to commence at 2.00 pm unless otherwise indicated

11 July 2017

16 January 2018 (provisional)

17 October 2017

13 February 2018

14 November 2017

20 March 2018

12 December 2017

15 May 2018 (Annual) (10:00am)


To provisionally agree the following Council meeting dates for 2018/19


10 July 2018

15 January 2019 (provisional)

16 October 2018

12 February 2019

13 November 2018

19 March 2019

11 December 2018

14 May 2019 (Annual) (10:00am)