Annual General Meeting, Full Council - Tuesday, 18th May, 2021 10.00 am

Venue: Main Auditorium, Portsmouth Guildhall

Contact: Stewart Agland  Email:

Webcast: View the webcast

No. Item


To elect the Lord Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year


To appoint the Deputy Lord Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year

Note in respect of items 1 and 2 above, in accordance with the Local Government Act 1972, a member of the Executive may not be elected to the position of either Lord Mayor or Deputy Lord Mayor.


Declaration of Members' Interests


To approve as correct records the Minutes of Extraordinary and the Ordinary Council meetings held on 16 March 2021 pdf icon PDF 102 KB

Additional documents:


To receive such communications as the Lord Mayor may desire to lay before the Council, including apologies for absence


Deputations from the Public


Leader pdf icon PDF 6 KB

To note that under the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007, the current Leader of the City Council will remain in office until May 2023 unless


a)    they resign from the office;


b)    they are no longer a Councillor


c)    they are removed from office by resolution of the Council


Please also see note in respect of items 1 and 2 above, advising that neither the Lord Mayor or Deputy Lord Mayor can be members of the Executive


Consequently, should any of the above apply, there will be a need to elect a Leader of the City Council, for a four-year term of office (unless the Leader's current term of office expires earlier).


Cabinet - In accordance with the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007, to receive details from the Leader of the Council regarding Cabinet members (including Deputy Leader) and portfolios for the ensuing Municipal Year pdf icon PDF 178 KB

The Council will also receive details of the appointments from the Leader (as it is within their gift) for the Health and Wellbeing Board, applying the following criteria;


·         Leader of the Council (or nominated representative)

·         Portfolio holder responsible for Health & Social Care

·         Portfolio holder responsible for Children’s Services

·         Leader of the largest opposition group (or nominated representative)


A named standing deputy may also be appointed for each position.


Proportional Representation on Panels and Committees pdf icon PDF 6 KB

Under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the City Council is required at each Annual Meeting to review the representation of different political groups, to determine the allocation of seats to different political groups for the forthcoming Municipal Year based on the Group Strengths on the Council and to appoint Members in accordance with the decisions of the Council as to allocation and according to the wishes of the groups as to the identities of the Members to be appointed.


The appointment of Members is dealt with separately under Item 10 below.


Proposed allocation of Seats for 2021/22 (Table 1) below


The representation of groups must be in accordance with the rules set out in the relevant legislation.  Details of the proposed allocation of places on Panels and Committees will follow.  Set out below are the totals -









No of Cllrs

Total No of Cttee Seats

Licensing Committee

(15 Members)

Planning Committee

(10 Members)

7 committees and panels (see note)

(6 Members each)

Scrutiny Management Panel

(9 Members)

























































Note: Group 5 contains the following: Governance & Audit & Standards; Employment; & Health Overview and Scrutiny Panel; and the 4 themed scrutiny panels


Principle 2 within Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 requires the majority of seats on Committees and Panels to be allocated to the group having the majority of seats on the City Council. 


A group is defined in the regulations as comprising two or more persons.


2021/22 municipal appointments will be presented at the meeting


RECOMMENDED (1) that the total number of seats on Committees and Panels be divided amongst the political groups and individual members as applicable in accordance with Table 1 above (details to follow).


                                  (2) that any other bodies subject to the political proportionality rules be appointed in accordance with proportions shown in Table 1 (details to follow).

Additional documents:


To appoint Members to the following Committees and Panels for the 2021/22 Municipal Year:-

Scrutiny Management Panel

- 9 members

Planning Committee

- 10 members

Licensing Committee

- 15 members

Governance & Audit & Standards Committee

- 6 members

Employment Committee

- 6 members

Health Overview & Scrutiny Panel

- 6 members

Economic Development, Culture & Leisure Scrutiny Panel

- 6 members

Education, Children & Young People Scrutiny Panel

- 6 members

Housing and Social Care Scrutiny Panel

- 6 members

Traffic, Environment & Community Safety Scrutiny Panel

- 6 members



To appoint Standing Deputies (three named Members for each Group on each Committee or Panel, five in respect of the Planning Committee)


To appoint the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees and the Scrutiny Management and Scrutiny Panels for the 2021/22 Municipal Year



To appoint representatives, who must be elected members, to the following outside bodies. These appointments are reserved to the City Council in accordance with the Council's Constitution.



To appoint 1 member to serve on the Hampshire and Isle of Wight Fire and Rescue Authority for the 2021/22 municipal year.


(In 2020/21 the appointee was Councillor Jason Fazackarley



To appoint 1 member to serve on the Police and Crime Panel (PCP) (Councillor Lee Hunt was the Council's representative in 2020/21).



To appoint up to 4 members to serve on the Local Government Association General Assembly for the 2021/22 municipal year, who will be supported by the appropriate officers at the Annual Conference, and to specify which of the elected members will hold the voting rights.


Portsmouth City Council has 5 votes on the LGA, which are usually exercised by the party forming the City Council’s political administration. Those having the right to vote should be identified.


In 2020/21 the representatives were Councillors Lee Mason, Judith Smyth, Gerald Vernon-Jackson and Darren Sanders, who each exercised one vote.



To appoint 6 members to serve on the Langstone Harbour Board who must be an elected member and in accordance with the political balance regulations.


For 2020/21, the representatives were; Councillors Graham Heaney, Lee Mason, Darren Sanders, Robert New, Jeanette Smith, Matthew Winnington (and standing deputies Hugh Mason and Matthew Atkins).




Other Appointments

6 members to the Twinning Advisory Group - in 2020/21 the chair was the  Communities and Central Services Portfolio holder (Councillor Attwell), with the Lord Mayor (Rob Wood) performing the deputy Chair role (the other 4 members in 2020/21 were Councillors Leo Madden, Tom Coles,  Chris Attwell*  (*now vacant seat due to filling it in his Portfolio holder capacity in 2020/21) and Linda Symes).


To receive and consider any urgent and important business in accordance with Standing Order No 26


To approve the following dates for meetings of the Council during the 2021/22 municipal year to commence at 2pm unless otherwise indicated pdf icon PDF 6 KB

20 July 2021

18 January 2022 (provisional)

12 October 2021

*15 February 2022 (*was originally 8 February)

9 November 2021

15 March 2022

7 December 2021

17 May 2022 (Annual) (10:00am)


To provisionally agree the following Council meeting dates for 2022/23


19 July 2022

17 January 2023 (provisional)

11 October 2022

14 February 2023

8 November 2022

14 March 2023

6 December 2022

16 May 2023 (Annual) (10.00am)