Agenda and minutes

Extraordinary, Full Council
Tuesday, 12th July, 2016 2.00 pm

Venue: Council Chamber - The Guildhall

Contact: Stewart Agland  Email:

No. Item


Apologies for Absence


Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Councillor Yahiya Chowdhury and Councillor Ken Ellcome.  Councillor Lee Mason sent apologies that he would be slightly late as he was detained on other council business.  Councillor Gemma New apologised for having to leave at about 5.00 pm.


The Lord Mayor gave detailed information concerning filming in the chamber, advising that notices had been displayed on the walls concerning the council's rules which strictly prohibit the filming, photographing or recording of members of the public unless they are addressing the meeting and only then if  they do not actively object.  Filming from gallery to gallery is also prohibited.


The Lord Mayor then gave details of the evacuation procedure and reminded everyone that there are building evacuation signs displayed both inside the public galleries and in the chamber itself.


Deputations from the Public under Standing Order No 24


The City Solicitor advised that there were no deputations relating to the business on the agenda of the extraordinary meeting.


Admission to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen - Dr Eleanor Scott

In the light of the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, and by virtue of Council Minute 191/06, to consider a proposal to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on Dr Eleanor Scott, a former Member of the City Council.


(The Act provides that the Council may, by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting thereon at a meeting of the Council specifically convened for the purpose with notice of the object, confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered long, eminent and outstanding service.)


The Lord Mayor advised that the motion to admit Dr Eleanor Scott as an honorary alderman will need to be passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting.


It was


Proposed by Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson

Seconded by Councillor Donna Jones


That the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Dr Eleanor Scott, a former member of the Portsmouth City Council.


The proposer of the motion gave a short speech in support, as did the seconder of the motion, Councillor Donna Jones and the Leader of the Labour group, Councillor John Ferrett.


RESOLVED unanimously that the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Dr Eleanor Scott and that a certificate confirming this decision be presented to her at a future city council meeting.