Annual General Meeting, Full Council
Tuesday, 15th May, 2018 10.00 am

Venue: The Main Concert Hall - The Guildhall

Contact: Stewart Agland  Email:

Note: The Council meeting is available to watch at 

No. Item

Items 1 (Election of Lord Mayor) and 2 (Appointment of Deputy Lord Mayor) will take place in the Main Concert Hall.


Vote of Thanks to Retiring Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress


Election of the Lord Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year

The Council will adjourn at approximately 11.30 am and deal with the remaining items, re-commencing in the Council Chamber no earlier than 2.30 pm.


Declaration of Members' Interests


To confirm the minutes of the meeting of the ordinary Council held on 20 March 2018. pdf icon PDF 271 KB


To receive such communications as the Lord Mayor may desire to lay before the Council, including apologies for absence.


Deputations from the Public under Standing Order No 24.


Under the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007, the current Leader of the City Council will remain in office until May 2020 unless

a)    they resign from the office;


b)    they are no longer a Councillor


c)    they are removed from office by resolution of the Council


The Lord Mayor to ascertain the intentions of the Leader and the Council.


In accordance with the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007, to receive details from the Leader of the Council regarding Cabinet members (including Deputy Leader) and portfolios for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Council will also receive details of the appointments from the Leader (as it is within their gift) for the Health and Wellbeing Board, applying the following criteria;


§  Leader of the Council (or nominated representative)

§  Portfolio holder responsible for Health & Social Care

§  Portfolio holder responsible for Children’s Services

§  Leader of the largest opposition group (or nominated representative)


A named standing deputy may also be appointed for each position.


Proportional Representation on Panels and Committees

Under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the City Council is required at each Annual Meeting to review the representation of different political groups, to determine the allocation of seats to different political groups for the forthcoming Municipal Year based on the Group Strengths on the Council and to appoint Members in accordance with the decisions of the Council as to allocation and according to the wishes of the groups as to the identities of the Members to be appointed.  The appointment of Members is dealt with separately under Item 10 below.


Proposed allocation of Seats for 2018/19 (Table 1) below


The representation of groups must be in accordance with the rules set out in the relevant legislation.  Details of the proposed allocation of places on Panels and Committees will follow.  Set out below are the totals -










No of Cllrs

Total No of Cttee Seats

Licensing Committee

(15 Members)

Planning Committee

(10 Members)

7 committees and panels (see note)

(6 Members each)

Scrutiny Management Panel

(9 Members)








Liberal Democrat














Non-Aligned Independents
















Note: Group 5 contains the following: Governance & Audit & Standards; Employment; & Health Overview and Scrutiny Panel; and the 4 themed scrutiny panels


Principle 2 within Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 requires the majority of seats on Committees and Panels to be allocated to the group having the majority of seats on the City Council. 


A group is defined in the regulations as comprising two or more persons.


2018/19 municipal appointments will be presented at the meeting


RECOMMENDED (1) that the total number of seats on Committees and Panels be divided amongst the political groups and individual members as applicable in accordance with Table 1 above (details to follow);


                                  (2) that any other bodies subject to the political proportionality rules be appointed in accordance with proportions shown in Table 1.


To appoint Members to the following Committees and Panels for the 2018/19 Municipal Year :-

Scrutiny Management Panel

- 9 members

Planning Committee

- 10 members

Licensing Committee

- 15 members

Governance & Audit & Standards Committee

- 6 members

Employment Committee

- 6 members

Health Overview & Scrutiny Panel

- 6 members

Economic Development, Culture & Leisure Scrutiny Panel

- 6 members

Education, Children & Young People Scrutiny Panel

- 6 members

Housing and Social Care Scrutiny Panel

- 6 members

Traffic, Environment & Community Safety Scrutiny Panel

- 6 members



To appoint Standing Deputies (three named Members for each Group on each Committee or Panel, five in respect of the Planning Committee).


To appoint the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees and the Scrutiny Management and Scrutiny Panels for the 2018/19 Municipal Year.



To appoint representatives, who must be elected members, to the following outside bodies. These appointments are reserved to the City Council in accordance with the Council's Constitution.


(1)       To appoint 1 member to serve on the Hampshire Fire & Rescue Authority for the 2018/19 municipal year.


(In 2017/18 the appointee was Councillor Luke Stubbs)


(2)       To appoint 1 member to serve on the Police and Crime Panel (PCP) (Councillor Ryan Brent was the Council's representative in 2017/18).


Note: Councils are asked to consider when appointing, whether a conflict of interest might occur for Leaders and Community Safety Portfolio holders, as they are likely to be in regular discussions with the Police and Crime Commissioner about local crime and disorder issues.


(3)       To appoint up to 4 members to serve on the Local Government Association General Assembly for the 2018/19 municipal year, who will be supported by the appropriate officers at the Annual Conference, and to specify which of the elected members will hold the voting rights.


Portsmouth City Council has 5 votes on the LGA, which are usually exercised by the party forming the City Council’s political administration. Those having the right to vote should be identified.


In 2017/18 the representatives were Councillors Donna Jones (two votes), and Lee Mason, Ryan Brent and Gerald Vernon-Jackson CBE, who each exercised one vote.


(4)       To appoint 6 members to serve on the Langstone Harbour Board who must be an elected member and in accordance with the political balance regulations.


For 2017/18, the representatives were; Councillors Alicia Denny, Ian Lyon, Lee Mason, Darren Sanders, Matthew Winnington and former Councillor Steve Hastings.


Standing deputies may also be appointed.


Other Appointments

·         6 members to the Twinning Advisory Group - in 2017/18 it the chair was the Resources Portfolio holder (Frank Jonas), with the Lord Mayor (Ken Ellcome) performing the deputy Chair role (the other 4 members in 2017/18 were Councillors Chowdhury, Hugh Mason and Lynne Stagg and former councillor Galloway,).


To receive and consider any urgent and important business in accordance with Standing Order No 26.


To approve the following dates for meetings of the Council during the 2018/19 Municipal Year as required under Standing Order 6 and 10(k), to commence at 2.00 pm unless otherwise indicated -

10 July 2018

15 January 2019 (provisional)

16 October 2018

12 February 2019

13 November 2018

19 March 2019

11 December 2018

14 May 2019 (Annual) (10:00am)


To provisionally agree the following Council meeting dates for 2019/20


16 July 2019

14 January 2020 (provisional)

15 October 2019

11 February 2020

12 November 2019

17 March 2020

10 December 2019

19 May 2020 (Annual) (10:00am)